June 23, 2024
Assembly Election 2023: Osun Speaker, Others Lose As PDP Wins 25 Seats
News Today In the News

Assembly Election 2023: Osun Speaker, Others Lose As PDP Wins 25 Seats

Candidates of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party in Osun State won 25 out of 26 seats in the Osun State House of Assembly in Saturday’s election.


But the All Progressives Congress won Boripe/Boluwaduro State Constituency seat with its candidate, Olufemi Popoola, polling 15,594 votes to defeat PDP’s Adesina Aina, that got 14,817 votes.


According to the official results of the polls made available by the Independent National Electoral Commission’s Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Mutiu Agboke, on Sunday, the rest 25 constituency seats were won by the PDP candidates.


The Speaker of the Assembly, representing Ilesa East, Timothy Owoeye, running on the platform of the APC, seeking 5th term, lost his reelection bid to the PDP’s Olatunbosun Oyewole who was returned elected.

READ ALSO: Gov Elections: G5’s Makinde Wins 17 of 18 LGs In Oyo, 15 More To Go

Kofoworola Babajide won reelection as a lawmaker for Ede North, while Adewumi Adeyemi, won reelection as the lawmaker for Obokun State Constituency.


Other results indicate that in Ilesa West State Constituency, Olawale Akerele was returned elected, Tajudeen Adeyemi, won the seat for Ifelodun State Constituency, while Akinloye Bajepade won Ila State Constituency seat.


Kashope Abolarinwa won the Ifedayo State Constituency seat, Adekunle Oladimeji won Irepodun/Orolu State Constituency seat, Adewale Egbedun won Odo-Otin State Constituency, while Olaide Ajibola won Olorunda State Constituency seat.


In Osogbo State Constituency, Rasheed Lawal won, Sanmi Areoye won Atakumosa East and West State Constituency, Abiola Awoyeye won the Ife Central State Constituency seat, Olumide Fatunmise won Ife East State Constituency seat, while Akinyode Oyewusi, won Ife North State Constituency seat.


Lawrence Adeoti won Ife South State Constituency, Olakanmi Ajibola won the Oriade State Constituency seat, Folorunso Ogundare won Ayedaade State Constituency, Elisha Oderinwale won Ayedire State Constituency, while Taofeek Olayiwola won Ede South State Constituency.


For Egbedore State Constituency, Rotimi Ogunrinade won, Ibrahim Abiola was elected the lawmaker representing Irewole/Isokan State Constituency, while Rabiu Adesina won Iwo State Constituency.


Ibrahim Abiodun won the OlaOluwa State Constituency seat, while Olujinmi Asagade was elected the lawmaker representing Ejigbo State Constituency.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video