July 25, 2024
Nigeria and Japan Join Forces Against Terrorism In Sahel
News Today In the News

Nigeria and Japan Join Forces Against Terrorism In Sahel

The Federal Government and the government of Japan have agreed to work together to end terrorism and other security crises in the Sahel region.

The Sahel region is made up of countries which include Nigeria, Niger, Chad, Sudan, Senegal, South Sudan, Central African Republic, Mali, Burkina Faso and Mauritania.

In a joint statement after a two-day meeting in Abuja with a Japanese delegation led by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Japan, Ms Kamikawa Yoko, Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar, said both nations talked about addressing the root cause of terrorism and instability in the Sahel region as well, as the issue of Boko Haram in North Eastern Nigeria.

READ ALSO: Stock Market Investors Lose N3.57 Trillion In April Amid CBN Policies

The Japanese Foreign Minister assured of the continued support of her government towards ending the crisis within the regions.

The statement also said that the two countries shared similar views about the need for reform at the United Nations Security Council, for a balanced geographical representation, the need for nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation of arms as well as the need for increased advocacy for Women, Peace and Security, WPS.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video